Friday, July 16, 2010

New Plug-in in the Wild! SkillBuilders Save Before Exit

Back in 2008, I blogged about how alert users to save their work before leaving a page. Although that was some time ago, the article is still popular to this day. Even while presenting at Kaleidoscope a couple weeks ago, someone asked if we would be creating a plug-in to make this functionality easier… While uncertain at the time, the answer is pretty clear now: Why yes, yes we will ;)

Click here to view/download the plug-in!

Description

Have you ever filled out a form and accidently left the page without saving your work? It is actually quite easy to do. Thankfully, browsers have features to help prevent this from happening. The problem, however, is that taking advantage of those features can be quite difficult - until now.

The SkillBuilders Save Before Exit dynamic action plug-in allows you to notify your users if they leave a page without saving their work. Simply install the plug-in and add it to your page!

Features at a glance

  1. Activates when a user makes a change to an item on the page.
  2. Warning message displayed if user tries to leave page without clicking a button. Includes: Closing the browser, clicking the back button, clicking a link, etc.
Post a Comment